The lure of the forbidden fruit


There is a mistake in the sub headline. It should obviously read: “Alcoholism is a growing problem in Pakistan BECAUSE of it being illegal.” For a long time I could never understand why my class mates in secondary school were binge drinking and smoking. Even when I heard that those people with the strictest parents were going wildest at school, I could still not comprehend why anyone would enjoy drinking more than makes you feel good. Until the day that I drank Muree beer from a brown paper bag. When I realised that for the first time in my life I was excited about drinking alcohol I could finally understand the seductive power of the forbidden fruit.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-24044337

Leave a Reply

