Great article and the message is similar to what I was saying at the Democracy and Human Rights Conference at the University of Nottingham two weeks ago.
“The harsh reality is that Pakistan has been a state since 1947, but is still not a nation.” “The magic words about any system to be explicitly successful are: Confidence and Thought.

Confidence in a system comes from equitability, justice and sustainability. Plato noted that “thinking is man’s natural instrument for problem solving….any problem could be solved by thought”.

The thinking people of the new and educated generation need to perceive plan and play a defining role in rebuilding the future of Pakistan.” “What is it that Pakistan does not have to offer?

It is blessed with fertile land, countless natural resources and some of the most talented people in the world.

Pakistan has tremendous potential as a country and if its resources are utilized properly then it has the potential to easily become one of the most developed countries of the world!”

2 thoughts on “

  1. What took you to Pakistan? How long did you live there? Going back? I traveled to and lived in India for a long time and as you know they are both cut from the larger Bharat, or Hindustan, so the cultures are similar.

    I think it would be beneficial if the entire region from Afghanistan to Myanmar, Nepal to Sri Lanka, consolidated into a “Greater South Asia” whole and the original values of the region – freedom of thought, religion, speech, that are the hallmarks of Dharmic Civilization, underscored this New Bharat.

    • Thank you ever so much for your very constructive comments. It was the intention of my blog to have a bit of a discussion and finally it’s happening. I came to Pakistan to visit my friend from university in Nottingham / UK. She and another Pakistani student were my house mates during my Erasmus exchange and their first year of phd. We also had an Indian phd, a student from South Korea and my then German boyfriend living in the house. Very mixed countries but well all got along splendidly and I became interested in a country that I hadn’t even given much thought before. So, when she returned last summer and invited me to come and visit her I reasoned that I should make use of this opportunity. Many people said it was too dangerous, but I thought that if she is living there I should be able to do so for a month. And it was a great experience. The only regret was not meeting more people as I spent most of the time, as we travelled through the country, with members of her family. Thus, I found it very difficult to generalize any experiences afterwards.

      I like your idea of a “Greater South Asia” as the cultures are indeed similar and when abroad Pakistanis and Indians get along splendidly. I didn’t even know that the political relations between the two countries are still so tense.

Leave a Reply

